For the first time in the Middle-East, see 16 remarkable paintings by Rembrandt van Rijn, as well as rare pieces by Johannes Vermeer, Jan Lievens and Carel Fabritius, in this extraordinary exhibition of more than 90 works from the Dutch Golden Age of the 17th century.

During the Golden Age, the Dutch Republic was a world leader in trade, science, and the arts. Set against this backdrop of cultural exchange, exploration and discovery, the exhibition surveys Rembrandt’s artistic journey and his relationship with friends, rivals, and contemporaries in the Dutch cities of Leiden and Amsterdam.  The show also explores the artistic traditions that flourished in Leiden and the wider Netherlands during this period, including a new school of artists, made famous throughout Europe by Gerrit Dou and Frans van Mieris, called the fijnschilders (fine painters), best known for their exquisitely rendered scenes of daily life.

On display are works spanning Rembrandt’s career – from his early famed series of allegorical paintings of the Senses, which demonstrate the artist’s youthful ingenuity and experimentation with expressions, composition and color during his Leiden days, to later works created in Amsterdam, including sensitively-rendered portraits, a renowned self-portrait, and his monumental history painting of the goddess Minerva. These works are displayed alongside paintings by other masters from Rembrandt’s artistic circle – including Jan Lievens, Ferdinand Bol, Carel Fabritius, and Gerrit Dou – demonstrating the influence that this remarkable group of artists had on each other’s work.

The exhibition also presents a unique opportunity to see two paintings by Johannes Vermeer, The Lacemaker and Young Woman Seated at a Virginal, produced on canvas cut from the same bolt, hung beside one another for what is thought to be the first time in 300 years.

The works are drawn from The Leiden Collection, the most important assemblage of Rembrandt and his peers in private hands, and the outstanding collection of the Musée du Louvre.

Copyrights

  1. Rembrandt van Rijn (1606-1669), Self-portrait with Shaded Eyes, 1634, oil on panel, New York, The Leiden Collection. Image courtesy of The Leiden Collection, New York.
  2. Johannes Vermeer (1632-1675), Young Woman Seated at a Virginal, ca. 1670-72, oil on canvas, New York, The Leiden Collection. Image courtesy of The Leiden Collection, New York.
  3. Johannes Vermeer (1632-1675), The Lacemaker, 1669-70, oil on canvas, Paris, Musée du Louvre. © RMN-Grand Palais (musée du Louvre)/Gérard Blot.
Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

للمرة الأولى في الشرق الأوسط، يتيح المعرض لزواره فرصة الاطلاع على 16 لوحة بارزة للفنان رمبرانت فان راين، فضلاً عن قطع نادرة ليوهانس فيرمير، ويان ليفنز، وكاريل فبريتيوس، وهو يضم أكثر من 90 قطعة فنية من العصر الذهبي الهولندي في القرن السابع عشر.

 في خلال العصر الذهبي الهولندي، كانت جمهورية هولندا رائدة عالمياً في التجارة والعلوم والفنون. وفي ظلّ هكذا تبادل ثقافي ومعرفي واستكشافي، يتعمّق المعرض في مسيرة رامبرانت الفنية وفي علاقته مع الأصدقاء والمنافسين، والفنانين المعاصرين له في مدينتي لايدن وأمستردام في هولندا. كما وتتجلّى في المعرض التقاليد الفنية التي ازدهرت في لايدن وكافة أنحاء هولندا في تلك الفترة، بما فيها المدرسة الجديدة من الفنانين التي برزت آنذاك واشتهرت في أوروبا من خلال كل من جيرار داو، وفرانس فان مييريس، والتي تُدعى "الرسامون الرائدون"، إذ يتميّز أسلوب رساميها بتجسيد رائع لمشاهد من الحياة اليومية.

يكتشف الزائر في المعرض أعمال رامبرانت من مختلف محطات مسيرته الفنية، ابتداءً من أوّل مجموعة للوحاته التي صوّرت الحواس الخمس، والتي تُظهر إبداع الفنان اليافع وتجاربه الاختبارية مع التعابير، والتراكيب، والألوان في الأيام التي قضاها في لايدن، وصولاً إلى أعماله التي أنجزها لاحقاً في أمستردام بما فيها لوحات لأشخاص مرسومة بمستوى عالٍ من الدقة، ولوحته الذاتية الشهيرة، واللوحة التاريخية للإلهة مينيرفا. فالزائر سيجد كلّ هذه اللوحات معروضة إضافة إلى لوحات لرسامين آخرين من دائرة رامبرانت الفنية، بمن فيهم جان ليفنز، وفيرديناند بول، وكاريل فابريشيوس، وجيرار داو، وهي توضح كيف يتجلّى تأثير هذه المجموعة البارزة من الفنانين على بعضهم البعض من خلال أعمالهم.

كما يقدّم المعرض للزوار فرصة استثنائية لتأمّل لوحتين ليوهانس فيرمير، "صانعة الدانتيل" و"امرأة شابة جالسة إلى آلة موسيقية قديمة"، مرسومتين على نفس القماش، معلقتين إلى جانب بعضهما البعض للمرة الأولى منذ 300 عام. 

 يُذكر أن القطع التي يقدمها المعرض هي من مجموعة لايدن، وهي مجموعة خاصة تضم أكبر عدد من لوحات فيرمير وفناني عصره، ومجموعة متحف اللوفر باريس المذهلة. 

اشترِ تذكرتك  نشاطات العائلات والأطفال

حقوق الملكية

  1. رامبرانت فان راين (1669-1606) صورة شخصية ذاتية بعينين مظللتين 1634 ألوان زيتية على خشب نيويورك، مجموعة لايدن. شكر وعرفان لمجموعة لايدن، نيويورك.
  2. يوهانس فيرمير (1675-1632) امرأة شابة جالسة إلى آلة البيانو نحو 1670-1672 ألوان زيتية على قماش نيويورك، مجموعة لايدن . شكر وعرفان لمجموعة لايدن، نيويورك .
  3. يوهانس فيرمير (1675 - 1632)، صانعة الدنتيل، نحو 1670-1669. ألوان زيتية على قماش ملصق على خشب . باريس، متحف اللوفر) © آر إم إن- القصر الكبير (متحف اللوفر/ جيرار بلو
Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode