What is, and what was luxury? This story celebrates a world history of the lavish and the luxurious through 350 extraordinary objects – fashion, jewellery, art, furniture, design and more.

Spanning thousands of years, marvel at the ways in which luxury has been interpreted by diverse cultures: from extravagant offerings for the divine, to golden furniture fit for royalty and the iconic couture of fashion houses and virtuoso objects of luxury houses, as Christian Dior, Chanel, Cartier, Balenciaga and Hermès Discover how different cultures have defined luxury and the impact of such excess on the evolution of society, as a way to undermine or underline the status quo. Consider the prominent role of women in defining luxury, and with it, the ebb and flow between excess and moderation. We explore what elevates an object to the realm of precious - be it time, craftsmanship, or rarity.

The exhibition presents multiple narratives of luxury from ancient civilisations and their worship of the gods, to the exquisite finery of the 18th century French court of Versailles, as well as the ways in which the Industrial Revolution transformed both our interpretation and consumption of luxury goods. It will question what luxury means to us today amidst concerns about sustainable development in an age of globalisation and mass consumption, and evaluate ‘money can’t buy’ notions of personal freedoms such as leisure time and freedom of movement.

Drawing on the collections of Musée des Arts Décoratifs and other French museums, including Musée du Louvre and Musée du Quai Branly-Jacques Chirac, this exhibition offers a rare chance to glimpse, revel in and evaluate true luxury. The exhibition is curated by Olivier Gabet, Deputy Managing Director of Musée des Arts Décoratifs. Scenography of the exhibition is by studio Adrien Gardère.

Admission is included with your museum general admission ticket.
Louvre Abu Dhabi Art Club Members visit for free.

Cultural programme

10,000 Years of Luxury will be accompanied by a rich cultural programme curated by internationally respected artistic director Ruth Mackenzie CBE. Centered around creating rare experiences that “money can’t buy”, the programme will feature pop-up performances by international artists, musicians and dancers. On view from 6 to 9 November, these surprise performances will offer visitors a unique personal encounter with world-renowned artists set against the backdrop of the exhibition and Louvre Abu Dhabi’s permanent collection and outdoor spaces. Performers include the L.A. Dance Project led by French choreographer Benjamin Millepied, Moroccan singer and actress Hindi Zahra, UAE artist Hamdan Al Abri, the Chinese musician Wang Li and classical music quartet Quatuor Diotima, among others.

Two talks will explore objects and themes highlighted in 10,000 Years of Luxury. On 29 October, curator Olivier Gabet will discuss the exhibition, which celebrates a world history of the lavish and the luxurious. Dr. Mark Beech, Head of Archaeology for Al Dhafra and Abu Dhabi at the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi, will give a talk on the discovery of the Abu Dhabi Pearl on 26 November. Dr. Beech’s talk will be accompanied by an excerpt from the new documentary series History of the Emirates, produced by Image Nation Abu Dhabi. In addition, there will be a virtual reality experience based on the series that will take viewers on an immersive journey through the lives of the Emirati forefathers and the history of the UAE.

Emirati artist Hind Mezaina has curated a series of films that feature luxury in the worlds of fashion and art, including Phantom Thread, Academy-award winning musical The King and I; the classic 1960s rom-com How to Steal A Million, starring Audrey Hepburn and Peter O’Toole; the documentary Time Thieves; and Have You Seen My Movie?, which features clips from 1,000+ films cut together to create a new cinema experience, directed by Paul Anton Smith. Artist Rinku Awtani will also present a programme of family films for all ages.

Finally, Louvre Abu Dhabi will premiere the interactive installation, Digital Snow Globes, from 12 December 2019 to 10 January 2020, which will bring a festive winter spirit to the museum with visitor-activated snowstorms surrounding life-sized reproductions of artworks from 10,000 Years of Luxury encased in snow globes.

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

ما هي الرفاهية؟ وكيف نظرت إليها الشعوب على مر التاريخ؟ يسلط المعرض الضوء على حياة الرفاهية والترف على مر التاريخ عبر 350 قطعة استثنائية من مجالات الموضة وصناعة الحليّ والمجوهرات والفن والأثاث والتصميم وغيرها.

من خلال السفر عبر آلاف السنين، يبيّن المعرض الطرق المختلفة التي فسّرت من خلالها الثقافات المتنوعة مفهوم الرفاهية على مر التاريخ: من القرابين الباذخة المقدّمة للآلهة عند بعض الشعوب، إلى الأثاث المصنوع من الذهب الخالص الذي لا يليق إلا بالملوك، مروراً بتصاميم الأزياء الفخمة لدور الأزياء الشهيرة، والقطع التي أبدعها فنانو دور الأزياء الفاخرة مثل كريستيان ديور وشانيل وكارتييه وبالينسياغا وهيرميس.

يستعرض هذا المعرض مفهوم الرفاهية لدى الثقافات المختلفة، والأثر الذي ترتب عن مثل هذا الإسراف على تطور المجتمع، كوسيلة لتقويض الوضع الراهن وإبرازه في آن واحد. إلى جانب ذلك، هو يسلط الضوء على الدور البارز الذي لعبته المرأة في تعريف الرفاهية، وانتشار الإسراف والاعتدال والحد منهما، وفي تحديد المفاهيم المتعلقة بما يرفع قيمة قطعة ما إلى حد المغالاة، من عمر القطعة ومهارة صنعها وندرتها.

ويسرد المعرض قصصاً عديدة حول الرفاهية ابتداءً من الحضارات القديمة وتقديسها للآلهة، وصولاً إلى فخامة قصر فرساي الفرنسي في القرن الثامن عشر، مروراً بكيفية تغيير الثورة الصناعية لمفهومنا لسلع الرفاهية واستهلاكها. كما وسيدفعنا المعرض إلى إعادة النظر بمفهومنا للرفاهية اليوم وسط المخاطر التي تواجه النمو المستدام في ظل ما يشهده عصرنا من العولمة والاستهلاك واسع الانتشار؛ وسيقوم المعرض أيضاً بتقييم مفاهيم الحرّيات الشخصية تحت عنوان "الرفاهية لا تُقدر بثمن" مثل أوقات الفراغ وحرّية التنقل.

يرتكز هذا المعرض إلى مجموعة متحف الفنون الزخرفية وغيره من المتاحف الفرنسية، بما فيها متحف اللوفر، إذ يفتح لزواره نافذة نادرة على المعنى الحقيقي للرفاهية، ويُتيح لهم الاستمتاع بها وحتى تقييمها. ينسّق المعرض، أوليفييه غابيه، نائب مدير عام متحف الفنون الزخرفية. ُيذكر أن استديو أدريان جاردير عمل على تصمیم طريقة عرض القطع في المعرض

الدخول من ضمن تذكرة دخول المتحف.
الدخول مجاني لأعضاء برنامج "أصدقاء الفن" الخاص باللوفر أبوظبي.

البرنامج الثقافي

سيترافق معرض "10 آلاف عام من الرفاهية" مع برنامج من الفعاليات الثقافية عملت على تنسيقه المديرة الفنيّة الشهيرة عالمياً روث ماكينزي. ويهدف هذا البرنامج إلى تقديم تجربة استثنائية بعنوان "ما لا يُشترى بالمال"، وهو يشمل عروضاً حيّة للعديد من الفنانين والموسيقيين والراقصين العالميين. فمن 6 إلى 9 نوفمبر سيتفاجأ زوار المتحف بهذه العروض التي سيقدمها فنانون مشهورون عالمياً في قاعات المعرض وقاعات عرض المتحف كما في حديقته. وتقدّم هذه العروض فرقة "إل إي دانس بروجكت" بقيادة مصمم الرقص الفرنسي بنجامن ميلبيي، والفنانة والمغنية المغربية زهرة هندي، ومغني البوب الإماراتي حمدان العبري، والموسيقي الصيني وانغ لي والمجموعة الرباعية للموسيقى الكلاسيكية "كواتوور ديوتيما"، وغيرهم من الفنانين.

كما يعقد المتحف في إطار هذا المعرض جلستين حواريتين. ففي 29 أكتوبر، سيناقش منسّق المعرض أوليفييه غابيه تاريخ الرفاهية من خلال تقديم لمحة عن المعرض. أما في 26 نوفمبر، فيقدّم المتحف جلسة حوارية مع الدكتور مارك جوناثان بيتش، رئيس قسم الآثار في الظفرة وأبوظبي في دائرة الثقافة والسياحة- أبوظبي، الذي سيسلط الضوء على لؤلؤة أبوظبي. وستترافق الجلسة الحوارية مع عرض لمقتطفات من سلسلة "تاريخ الإمارات" الوثائقية من إنتاج إيمج نيشن أبوظبي. إلى جانب ذلك، سيستمتع الزوار بتجربة الواقع الافتراضي التي ترتكز إلى السلسة الوثائقية والتي ستأخذهم في رحلة لاكتشاف تاريخ الإمارات وحياة الأجداد والأسلاف فيها.

إلى جانب ذلك، عملت الفنانة الإماراتية هند مزينة على تنسيق سلسلة من عروض الأفلام التي تسلط الضوء على مفهوم الرفاهية في عالم الموضة والفن، بما في ذلك فيلم "خيط الشبح" (Phantom Thread)، والفيلم الموسيقي "الملك وأنا" الحائز جائزة أوسكار، والفيلم الكوميدي الرومنسي "كيف تسرق مليوناً" (How to Steal A Million) من بطولة أودري هوبيرن وبيتر أوتول، وفيلم "لصوص الوقت" (Time Thieves) الوثائقي، وفيلم "هل شاهدت فيلمي؟" (Have You Seen My Movie?) الذي يتضمن مقاطع مأخوذة من أكثر من 1000 فيلم تم دمجها لابتكار تجربة سينمائية جديدة من إخراج بول أنتون سميث. يُذكر أن الفنانة رينكو أوتاني ستقدم أيضاً سلسلة من عروض الأفلام العائلية التي تناسب جميع الأعمار.

كما يقدم المتحف وللمرة الأولى على الإطلاق عملاً تفاعلياً بعنوان "كرات الثلج العملاقة" من 12 ديسمبر 2019 وحتى 10 يناير 2020، سيضفي الأجواء الشتوية على المتحف من خلال كرات الثلج العملاقة المصممة تماماً مثل قطع معروضة في المعرض ليعيش الزائر عاصمة ثلجية تنقله إلى عالم رائع.

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode