Type a message Skip to main content

Art Here 2021
Richard Mille Art Prize

Memory, Time, Territory
18 November 2021 – 27 March 2022

ART HERE. ART NOW. IN THE UAE

What does it mean for a museum to be an integral part of its territory? What is the place of contemporary art in a universal story of human creativity? These questions are at the heart of Louvre Abu Dhabi’s first annual Art Here exhibition. For this inaugural year, UAE-based artists were invited to submit proposals around the theme of ‘Memory, Time and Territory’, and our distinguished panel of international art experts have selected seven artists to exhibit as part of the exhibition in the museum’s Forum. Following the exhibition launch $50,000 cash prize will be awarded to the 2021 winner of The Richard Mille Art Prize.

Memory, time and territory are central ideas in Louvre Abu Dhabi’s universal narrative. Throughout the galleries we discover how memory plays an important role in shaping collective identity, opening a space for stories to be told, a place for individuals, communities, and societies to find meaning. The Louvre Abu Dhabi story begins in the prehistoric era and continues to the contemporary age, where time accelerates and space contracts. In today’s world, where past, present and future seem to co-exist, the relation between memory and territory has become more complex. These concerns are addressed by the artists selected for the first edition of Louvre Abu Dhabi Art Here. Each explores the question of memory and belonging, the geography of identity, through their own personal engagement with particular territories. Living in the UAE, they are uniquely placed to respond to such questions. In its Jubilee year, the country celebrates an extraordinary development, occurring in half a century, from nomadic culture to globalised contemporary society. The geographical environment is marked by this transformation, resulting in the unique image of a rapidly expanding urban landscape set against the backdrop of a still, silent desert terrain. This sight, a constant reference point for life in the UAE, offers all residents a visual reminder of how the past persists in the present and how the present is permanently marked by a future under construction.

This exhibition and art prize shine a spotlight on the extraordinary contemporary art scene in the UAE, creating a new stage at Louvre Abu Dhabi for artists, giving them a platform to be seen and heard, and a space in which to express themselves and come together. It represents a further extension of the role of the museum as a repository for art works and objects celebrating the past but also as a space of interaction and exchange for contemporary art.

MEET THE 2021 SHORLISTED ARTISTS

Cristiana de Marchi

Cristiana de Marchi is an Italian/Lebanese visual artist and writer.
Her work has been presented internationally, and has been featured in Art Asia Pacific, Art Forum, Contemporary Practices, Artribune, Canvas, The Art Newspaper, and Harper’s Bazaar Art Arabia, besides extensive mentions in the Arabic press. She has been a resident artist at the University of Cincinnati, Vermont Studio Centre, Artists’ Village, Yinchuan, Rijksakademie, Santa Fe Art Institute, and the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. In 2015, de Marchi graduated from the Salama bint Hamdan Emerging Artists Fellowship and was awarded the Italian ‘Premio ORA’.

Latifa Saeed

Latifa Saeed is a visual artist from the United Arab Emirates working mainly on installations and sculptures
She exhibited in several exhibitions including: Community and Critique: SEAF Cohort 6 Final Exhibition, Warehouse 421, Abu Dhabi, 2019; Made in Tashkeel, Tashkeel, Dubai, 2015; Middle East revealed, Dray walk gallery, London, 2014; Her verses, Women’s Museum, Dubai, 2012; Vibrations within, Tashkeel, Dubai, 2008; Perceptions, The Third Line, Dubai, 2006.

Mays Albaik

Mays Albaik is an interdisciplinary visual artist from Palestine, working in performance, video, and installations.
She was a fellow of the Salama Emerging Artist Fellowship, and had her first solo show A Terranean Love Note,/em>, at Tashkeel Art Center in Dubai in 2021. She has previously participated in several exhibitions including: Qala 0.8900, Darat Al Funun, Jordan, 2019; BWWB, Helix Art Gallery, Brooklyn, and Sawt 2a, Grey Noise, Dubai, 2018; Mind the Gap, Tashkeel, Dubai, 2018; Change Coordinates + Someone Else, 1971 Design Space, Sharjah, 2016-17.

Mohammed Kazem

Mohammed Kazem is a visual artist from the United Arab Emirates working in video, photography, and performance.
He has recently participated in several group shows including: I Love You Urgently, 21 39, Jeddah Arts, Jeddah, 2020; But We Cannot See Them: Tracing a UAE Underground 1988 – 2008, NYUAD Art Gallery, Abu Dhabi, and The Creative Act: Performance, Process, Presence, Guggenheim Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, 2017; But a Storm is Blowing From Paradise: Contemporary Art of the Middle East and North Africa, Guggenheim, New York, 2016. In 2013, he represented the UAE’s National Pavilion at the 55th Venice Biennale.

Nasser Alzayani

Nasser Alzayani is a visual artist from Bahrain.
He was showcased in a number of group exhibitions including: Kissing Through A Curtain, MASS MoCA, North Adams, 2020; The Youth Takeover, Jameel Art Centre, Dubai, 2020; Glass Triennial, Sol Koffler Gallery, Providence, 2019; _____scapes, Gelman Gallery, Providence, 2019; Bayn, Warehouse421, Abu Dhabi, 2017 and Watering the distant, deserting the near, Al Riwaq, Bahrain, 2016. He was a recipient of the Fundación Casa Wabi x ArtReview Residency in 2017, the Villa Lena Foundation Residency in 2018, and the Cultural Foundation Art Residency in Abu Dhabi in 2021.

Tarek Al-Ghoussein

Tarek Al-Ghoussein is a Palestinian/Kuwaiti visual artist.
In 2013, he represented the Kuwait National Pavilion at the 55th Venice Biennale. His works are collected by museums worldwide such as the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Freer Sackler Gallery of the Smithsonian, Washington D.C.; Victoria and Albert Museum, London; British Museum, London; the Royal Museum of Photography, Copenhagen; Mori Art Museum, Tokyo; the Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha; the Sharjah Biennial Collection, the Abu Dhabi Music and Arts Foundation, Barjeel Art Foundation and Art Jameel, UAE.

Taus Makhacheva

Taus Makhacheva is a visual artist from Russia, she creates works that explore the restless connections between historical narratives and fictions of cultural authenticity.
Makhacheva has had numerous solo shows including 4`224,92 cm’2 of Degas, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne 2020; Superhero Sighting Society, KADIST Foundation, Paris, 2019; Storeroom, Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, 2018; Cloud Caught on a Mountain, Moscow Museum of Modern Art, Moscow, 2017. She was also exhibited in major international projects such as Yokohama Triennale in 2020, Between the Sun and the Moon, the 2nd Lahore Biennale in 2020; Where Water Comes Together with Other Water, the 15th Lyon Contemporary Art Biennale in 2019, Manifesta 12 in 2018, and Viva Arte Viva, the 57th Venice Biennale in 2017.

ABOUT RICHARD MILLE

Richard Mille and Louvre Abu Dhabi share the values of excellence in innovation, creativity, mastery and savoir-faire. The Richard Mille Art Prize will redefine the benchmarks of contemporary creativity, with a goal to offer exceptional artists the opportunity to create a new dimension of their potential. For more about Richard Mille, Please visit richardmille.com

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

Type a message Skip to main content

فن الحين 2021
جائزة ريتشارد ميل للفنون

في الذاكرة والزمان والمكان
18 نوفمبر 2021- 27 مارس 2022

فن الحين في الإمارات

كيف تضرب المتاحف جذورها في المكان الذي يحتضنها؟ وما هي المكانة التي يحتلها الفن المعاصر في سياق الإبداع الإنساني العالمي؟ تنصب هذه الأسئلة في جوهر معرض "فن الحين" السنوي الذي يُقام في متحف اللوفر أبوظبي.
كانت هذه النسخة الأولى للمعرض مفتوحة أمام الفنانين المقيمين لتقديم مقترحاتهم الفنّية التي تتمحور حول الذاكرة والزمان والمكان. وقد عملت لجنة الخبراء البارزين من مختلف أنحاء العالم على اختيار سبعة فنانين للمشاركة في المعرض الذي سيقام في رواق المتحف. سيتم اختيار فنان من بينه المختارين للفوز بجائزة ريتشارد ميل للفنون لعام 2021 والحصول على الجائزة النقدية وقدرها 50 ألف دولار أمريكي. يسلّط هذا المعرض، كما الجائزة الخاصة به، الضوء على المشهد الاستثنائي للفن المعاصر في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إذ يشكّل منصة للفنانين لتقديم فنّهم إلى العالم في مساحة يعبّرون من خلالها عن أنفسهم، مرسّخاً بذلك دور المتاحف في تقديم الأعمال الفنيّة التي تحتفي بالماضي وتتيح مساحة للتفاعل والتبادل حول الفن المعاصر.

تمثل مفاهيم الذاكرة والزمان والمكان محور الإطار السردي لمتحف اللوفر أبوظبي. إذ نرى في جميع أنحاء قاعات العرض كيف تلعب الذاكرة دوراً بارزًا في تشكيل الهوية الجماعية، مما يتيح المجال لسرد القصص، ويعطي حيّزاً للأفراد والمجتمعات لإيجاد ما تبحث عنه. تبدأ القصة التي يرويها متحف اللوفر أبوظبي من عصر ما قبل التاريخ وتستمر حتى يومنا هذا حيث يتسارع الوقت وتتقارب المسافات. ففي عالمنا المعاصر، حيث يلتقي الماضي بالحاضر والمستقبل، أصبحت العلاقة بين الذاكرة والمكان أكثر تعقيداً. لذا سيعالج الفنانون المختارون للمشاركة في النسخة الأولى من معرض "فن الحين" في اللوفر أبوظبي هذه المفاهيم وما يرافقها من أسئلة، حيث سيستكشف كلٌّ منهم عبر عمله الفنّي مسائل الذاكرة والانتماء والجغرافيا والهوية من خلال تفاعله الشخصي مع مناطق معينة. ولا بد من الإشارة إلى أن الفنانين المشاركين، وهم من المقيمين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، يتمتعون بمكانة فريدة تمكّنهم من الإجابة على مثل هذه الأسئلة. إذ تحتفل الدولة باليوبيل الذهبي وبالتطورات الاستثنائية التي شهدتها خلال نصف قرن، مع الانتقال إلى المجتمع العالمي المعاصر. فالبيئة الجغرافية في دولة الإمارات يتميّز بهذا التحول، مما يرسم صورة فريدة من نوعها للمشهد الحضري الذي يشهد توسعاً سريعاً بخلفية تضم تضاريساً صحراوية صامتة. وهذه الرؤية هي نقطة مرجعية ثابتة للحياة في الدولة، تقدم لجميع المقيمين فيها تذكيراً بصرياً لامتداد الماضي نحو الحاضر، ولتلوّن الحاضر بألوان مستقبل قيد الإنشاء.

تعرّف إلى الفنانين المختارين للعام 2021


كريستيانا دي ماركي

كريستيانا دي ماركي هي فنانة بصرية وكاتبة، إيطالية/ لبنانية. عُرضت أعمالها على المستوى الدولي، وفي مجلات مثل "آرت آسيا والمحيط الهادئ"، و"منتدى الفن"، و"الممارسات المعاصرة"، و"آرتريبون"، و"كانفاس"، و"صحيفة الفن"، ومجلة "هاربرز بازار آرت آريبيا"، إلى جانب عرضها باستمرار على صفحات الصحافة العربية. حصلت على الإقامة في جامعة سينسيناتي، ومركز استوديو فيرمونت، وقرية الفنانين في ينشوان، والأكاديمية الوطنية للفنون الجميلة في هولندا، ومعهد سانتا في للفنون، وجامعة الفنون في فيلادلفيا. وفي العام 2015، حصلت دي ماركي على جائزة "بريميو أورا" الإيطالية، كما أنها خريجة برنامج منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين.

لطيفة سعيد

لطيفة سعيد هي فنانة بصرية إماراتية تعمل بشكل رئيسي في الأعمال التركيبية والمنحوتات. شاركت في العديد من المعارض بما فيها: معرض "المجتمع والنقد الفني: منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين 2018-19، الدفعة 6" ضمن فعاليات معرض 421 في أبوظبي عام 2019؛ و"صنع في تشكيل"، في معرض تشكيل في دبي عام 2015؛ و"كشف الشرق الأوسط"، في معرض دراي ووك في لندن عام 2014؛ و"قصائدها"، في متحف المرأة في دبي عام 2012؛ و"اهتزازات الداخل"، في معرض تشكيل في دبي عام 2008؛ و"تصورات"، في معرض الخط الثالث في دبي عام 2006.

ميس البيك

ميس البيك هي فنانة بصرية فلسطينية متعددة التخصصات، تتبلور أعمالها في فن الأداء والفيديو والأعمال التركيبية. هي خريجة برنامج منحة سلامة بنت حمدان للفنانين الناشئين. قدمت أول معرض فردي لها بعنوان "رسالة من تحت القدمين" في مركز تشكيل للفنون في دبي عام 2021، وشاركت في عدة معارض منها: "قلعة 0.8900"، في دارة الفنون، في الأردن عام 2019؛ و "قبل أن نُحْظَر"، في معرض هيليكس للفنون في بروكلين، و"صوت 2 أ"، في غاليري غراي نويز في دبي عام 2018؛ و"انتبه للمسافة" في تشكيل في دبي عام 2018، و"تغيير الإحداثيات + شخص آخر"، 1971- مركز للتصاميم في الشارقة بين عامي 2016 و2017.

محمد كاظم

محمد كاظم هو فنان بصري إماراتي يعمل في الفيديو والتصوير وفن الأداء. شارك مؤخراً في عدة معارض جماعية منها: "أحبك عاجلاً"، "فنّ جدّة 21,39"، عام 2020؛ و"لكن لا يمكننا رؤيتهم: تتبع مترو الأنفاق في الإمارات 1988 – 2008"، في معرض الفنون بجامعة نيويورك أبوظبي، و"العمل الإبداعي: الأداء، العملية، الحضور"، في متحف جوجنهايم أبوظبي عام 2017؛ و"لكن عاصفة تهب من الجنة: الفن المعاصر للشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا"، في متحف جوجنهايم في نيويورك عام 2016. وفي عام 2013، مثّل الجناح الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في بينالي البندقية الخامس والخمسين.

ناصر الزياني

ناصر الزياني هو فنان بصري بحريني. عُرضت أعماله في عدد من المعارض الجماعية منها: "قبلات من وراء الستارة" في متحف ماساتشوستس للفن المعاصر في نورث آدامز عام 2020؛ و"استحواذ الشباب"، في مركز جميل للفنون في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 2020؛ و"ترينالي الزجاج"، معرض سول كوفلر، بروفيدنس، 2019؛ و"___سكيبس"، معرض غيلمان، بروفيدنس، 2019؛ و"بَين"، في معرض 421 في أبوظبي عام 2017؛ و"تسقي البعيد، وتخلي القريب"، في الرواق في البحرين عام 2016. كما حصل الزياني على الإقامة الفنية "كازا وابي وآرت فيو" عام 2017، وإقامة "مؤسسة فيلا لينا" عام 2018، وإقامة "المجمّع الثقافي" في أبوظبي عام 2021.

طارق الغصين

طارق الغصين هو فنان بَصَري فلسطيني/ كويتي. في العام 2013، مثل جناح الوطني لدولة الكويت في بينالي البندقية الخامس والخمسين. تُعرض أعمال طارق الغصين ضمن مجموعات المقتنيات الفنية للعديد من المتاحف حول العالم، مثل متحف "سولومون أر جوجنهايم" في نيويورك؛ ومعرض "فرير ساكلر" في سميثسونيان، في واشنطن؛ ومتحف "فيكتوريا وألبرت" في لندن؛ و"المتحف البريطاني" في لندن؛ و"المتحف الملكي للتصوير الفوتوغرافي" في كوبنهاغن؛ و"متحف موري للفنون" في طوكيو؛ و"المتحف العربي للفن الحديث" في الدوحة، إلى جانب بينالي الشارقة، ومؤسسة أبوظبي للموسيقى والفنون، ومؤسسة بارجيل للفنون، ومركز جميل للفنون في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

تاوس ماكاتشيفا

تاوس ماكاتشيفا هي فنانة بصرية روسية. نظمت العديد من العروض الفردية بما في ذلك: 4,224،92 سم2 من ديغا، في متحف الكانتون للفنون الجميلة في لوزان، عام 2020؛ و"جمعية شهادات الأبطال الخارقين"، في مؤسسة كاديست في باريس عام 2019؛ و"غرفة التخزين"، في متحف فان أبي، أيندهوفن، في هولندا عام 2018؛ و"السحابة فوق الجبل"، في متحف موسكو للفن الحديث في موسكو، عام 2017. كما عُرضت أعمالها أيضاً في مشاريع دولية كبرى مثل ترينالي يوكوهاما في العام 2020 و"بين الشمس والقمر"، بينالي لاهور الثاني (من تنسيق حور القاسمي) في عام 2020؛ و"حيث تجتمع المياه مع المياه الأخرى"، في بينالي ليون للفن المعاصر الخامس عشر في العام 2019، ومانيفستا 12 في العام 2018، وفيفا آرتي فيفا، في بينالي البندقية السابع والخمسين عام 2017.

نبذة عن ريتشارد ميل

يتشارك ريتشارد ميل واللوفر أبوظبي مبادئ التميّز في الابتكار والفن والإتقان. في هذا الإطار، ستُعيد جائزة ريتشارد ميل تحديد معايير الإبداع المعاصر، وذلك بهدف تقديم فرصة للفنانين الاستثنائيين لابتكار بعد جديد لقدراتهم الفنّية.لمزيد من المعلومات حول ريتشارد ميل، يُرجى زيارة richardmille.com.

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode