Skip to main content

MOFAAIC

Our Partners

Created by an exceptional agreement between the governments of Abu Dhabi and France signed in 2007, Louvre Abu Dhabi was designed by Jean Nouvel and opened on Saadiyat Island in November 2017.
The museum’s growing collection is unparalleled in the region and spans thousands of years of human history, including prehistoric tools, artefacts, religious texts, iconic paintings and contemporary artworks. The name of “Louvre” is licensed to Abu Dhabi for 30 years and 6 months from the date of the signature of the agreement.
Louvre Abu Dhabi is overseen by the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi), the entity that develops and promotes the emirate of Abu Dhabi as an inspired global destination, rich in cultural authenticity and diverse natural offerings, with the aim of supporting Abu Dhabi’s evolution into an excellent, sustainable destination of distinction.

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT OF CULTURE AND TOURISM – ABU DHABI

The Department of Culture and Tourism conserves and promotes the heritage and culture of Abu Dhabi emirate and leverages them in the development of a world-class, sustainable destination of distinction, which enriches the lives of visitors and residents alike. The organisation manages the emirate’s tourism sector and markets the destination internationally through a wide range of activities aimed at attracting visitors and investment. Its policies, plans and programmes relate to the preservation of heritage and culture, including protecting archaeological and historical sites and to developing museums, including Zayed National Museum, Guggenheim Abu Dhabi, and Louvre Abu Dhabi. DCT - Abu Dhabi supports intellectual and artistic activities and cultural events to nurture a rich cultural environment and honour the emirate’s heritage. A key role is to create synergy in the destination’s development through close co-ordination with its wide-ranging stakeholder base.

ABOUT AGENCE FRANCE-MUSÉUMS

Agence France-Muséums has been for 10 years a key link between France and the UAE in the accomplishment of Louvre Abu Dhabi.

By gathering for the first time the collections and the expertise of the French cultural institutions involved, AFM has provided since its creation assistance and expertise to the authorities of the United Arab Emirates in the following areas: definition of the scientific and cultural programme, assistance in project management for architecture including museography, signage and multimedia projects, coordination of the loans from French collections and organisation of temporary exhibitions, guidance with the creation of a permanent collection, and support with the museum’s policy on visitors.

AFM now continues its missions for Louvre Abu Dhabi after its opening with the training of the museum’s professionals, the coordination of loans from French museums for 10 years and the organisation of temporary exhibitions for 15 years.

Florian David /Matignon
Louvre Abu Dhabi Unprecedented alliance between the UAE and France

ALONG WITH MUSÉE DU LOUVRE, THERE ARE 16 PRESTIGIOUS FRENCH PARTNERS

Musée du Louvre

A product of the French Revolution of 1789, Musée du Louvre in Paris is widely regarded today as the greatest museum in the world. Today it is an instantly recognisable symbol of excellence within the world of museums.
Founded in 1793, Musée du Louvre is one of the world’s oldest and largest cultural institutions. The museum's collection covers the history of mankind from antiquity to 1848 and from the Americas to Asia. Musée du Louvre’s universal scope is clear from the sheer variety of its collections, its global influence confirmed by the diversity of its nearly 8 million annual visitors. Musée du Louvre is committed to sharing its name and values with Abu Dhabi through this remarkable and innovative project.

REGIONAL PARTNERS

Displayed in the museum’s first gallery for visitors to explore humanity’s earliest artistic expressions are loans from the UAE, including a precious pendant dating back to 2000-1300 BCE from the National Museum of Ras Al Khaimah. Also displayed in the gallery is a painted Neolithic vase from the island of Marawah, the oldest ceramic vessel yet discovered in the country. In addition, a fragment of stucco from an ancient church in Sir Bani Yas is shown. These loans embody the UAE’s rich cultural heritage, and tell the story of the country’s strong historic connections with the wider world, completing the universal narrative of Louvre Abu Dhabi.
Highlights of loans from the region include a prehistoric stone tool dating back to 350,000 BCE, a milestone indicating the distance from Mecca in Kufic inscriptions, a funerary stele from Mecca dating back to 700–900 CE (100–300 AH) from the Saudi Commission for Tourism & National Heritage, a collection of over 400 silver Dirhams Coins from the Abbasid Caliphate of Iraq, the Samanid Dynasty and the Saffarid Dynasty discovered in Sidamah (al-Waqba) in 2005 CE (1425 AH) from the National Museum – Sultanate of Oman, and an 8000-year-old two-headed figure from Jordan’s Department of Antiquities called Ain Ghazal Statue.

- Department of Culture & Tourism - Abu Dhabi
- National Museum of Ras Al Khaimah
- Dubai Municipality
- Saudi Commission for Tourism and National Heritage
- National Museum – Sultanate of Oman
- Department of Antiquities of Jordan

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

Skip to main content

MOFAAIC

شركاؤنا

تم تأسيس متحف اللوفر أبوظبي بموجب اتفاق استثنائي موقّع بين حكومتي أبوظبي وفرنسا في العام 2007، وقام بتصميمه المهندس المعماري جان نوفيل، ثم تم افتتاحه في نوفمبر 2017 على موقعه في جزيرة السعديات.
لا مثيل لمجموعة اللوفر أبوظبي الدائمة في المنطقة، إذ تستعرض آلاف الأعوام من تاريخ الإنسانية بما في ذلك أدوات تعود إلى عصور ما قبل التاريخ، وتحف فنية، ومخطوطات دينية، ولوحات أيقونية، وأعمال فنية معاصرة. وتستمد المجموعة الدائمة الأعمال الفنية المستعارة من 13 مؤسسة فرنسية شريكة على امتداد 10 سنوات، ومن متاحف إقليمية ودولية أيضاً.
يتولّى الإشراف على متحف اللوفر أبوظبي دائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي، وهي دائرة من شأنها تطوير أعمال إمارة أبوظبي وتعزيزها كوجهة عالمية للثقافة، غنية بالأصالة الثقافية والعروض الطبيعية المتنوعة، بهدف دعم تطور إمارة أبوظبي إلى وجهة متميّزة ومستدامة بالتفوّق.

دائرة الثقافة والسياحة - أبوظبي

تتولّى دائرة الثقافة والسياحة مهمة الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي لإمارة أبوظبي، والترويج له بشكل يدعم تطوّر الإمارة لتصبح وجهة عالمية ومستدامة للتميّز، الأمر الذي يعزّز حياة زوارها والمقيمين فيها على حدّ سواء. تقوم المنظمة بإدارة قطاع الإمارة السياحي والتسويق لها كوجهة عالمية من خلال سلسلة واسعة من الأنشطة الهادفة إلى اجتذاب الزوار والاستثمارات. وتتمحور كلّ من سياساتها ومخططاتها وبرامجها حول الحفاظ على التراث والثقافة بما في ذلك المواقع الأثرية والتاريخية، بالإضافة إلى تطوير المتاحف ومن ضمنها متحف زايد الوطني، وغوغنهايم أبوظبي، واللوفر أبوظبي. كما تدعم دائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي الأنشطة والفعاليات الفكرية والفنية والثقافية لخلق بيئة ثقافية غنية، ولتكريم الإرث الإماراتي. ومن أهم الأدوار التي تلعبها هو التعاون البنّاء والمثمر مع مجموعة شركائها على النجاح في تطوير هذه الوجهة.

وكالة متاحف فرنسا

منذ 10 سنوات ووكالة متاحف فرنسا تلعب دور الوسيط الرئيسي بين دولتي فرنسا والإمارات العربية المتحدة لإنشاء متحف اللوفر أبوظبي.
كونها تمكّنت ولأوّل مرّة من الجمع بين مجموعات العرض الفنية وبين خبرات المؤسسات الفرنسية المعنية الواسعة، كانت وما زالت وكالة متاحف فرنسا، منذ إنشائها تمدّ سلطات الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالدعم في المجالات التالية: تعريف البرنامج الثقافي والعلمي، المساعدة في إدارة المشاريع للهندسة المعمارية، بما في ذلك مشاريع التصوير الموسيقي واللافتات والوسائط المتعددة، تنسيق التحف الفنية الفرنسية المستعارة وتنظيم المعارض المؤقتة، تقديم إرشادات لتكوين مجموعة دائمة من التحف الفنية، ودعم سياسة الزوار في المتحف.
تستمرّ وكالة متاحف فرنسا اليوم في مهماتها تجاه اللوفر أبوظبي بعد افتتاحه من خلال تدريب موظفي المتحف، والتنسيق مع المتاحف الفرنسية بخصوص استعارة الأعمال الفنية لمدة 10 سنوات، وتنظيم المعارض المؤقتة على امتداد 15 سنة.

Florian David /Matignon

إضافة إلى متحف اللوفر، لدينا ستة عشر شريكاً من المتاحف الفرنسية المرموقة

متحف اللوفر

تم إنشاء متحف اللوفر في باريس نتيجة للثورة الفرنسية عام 1789، وهو يتربّع على قمة أعظم المتاحف المنشأة في العصر الحديث. وهو اليوم رمز للتميّز والتفرّد في عالم المتاحف.
تأسس متحف اللوفر في عام 1793، وهو واحد من أقدم وأكبر المؤسسات الثقافية في العالم. وتغطّي المجموعة الفنية في المتحف تاريخ البشرية من العصور القديمة إلى 1848 من الأميركيتين وصولاً إلى آسيا. وينعكس النطاق العالمي لمتحف اللوفر من خلال التنوع الهائل لمجموعاته وتأثيره العالمي الذي يؤكّد على تنوّع زائريه الذين تصل أعدادهم إلى 8 مليون زائر سنوياً. ويلتزم متحف اللوفر بمشاركة اسمه وقيمه وتبادلها مع أبوظبي من خلال هذا المشروع الرائع والمبتكر.

الشركاء المحليون

تعرّف قاعة العرض الأولى زوارها على أوائل التعبيرات الفنية لدى البشر والمستعارة من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومن ضمنها قلادة ثمينة تعود إلى سنوات 2000-1300 ما قبل الميلاد من المتحف الوطني في رأس الخيمة. كما ويتعرّف الزوار في القاعة نفسها على مزهرية من العصر الحجري الحديث عُثر عليها في جزيرة مروح، وهي تمثّل أقدم إناء خزفي اكتُشف في دولة الإمارات. ومن بين الأعمال المعروضة، قطعة من الجبس تم استقدامها من كنيسة قديمة في جزيرة صير بني ياس. تلخّص هذه الأعمال المستعارة الإرث الثقافي الأثري للإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما أنها تروي قصة العلاقات التاريخية الوطيدة التي ربطت البلاد بجميع أقطار العالم لتكتمل من خلالها قصة اللوفر أبوظبي العالمية.
من بين أبرز الأعمال الفنية المعروضة المستعارة من المنطقة، أداة حجرية تعود إلى العام 350,000 قبل الميلاد، وعلامة تاريخية بالخط الكوفي تُشير إلى المسافة التي تفصل بين مكة والإمارات، ولوحة قبر تذكارية منقوشة من مكة المكرمة تعود إلى العام 700–900 ميلادية (100–300هجرية) من الهيئة العامة للسياحة والتراث الوطني في السعودية، ومجموعة تتألّف من حوالي 400 حجر من عملة الدرهم الفضية تعود إلى عهد الخلافة العباسية في العراق، والسلالة السامانية والسلالة الصفارية تم اكتشافها في منطقة صدامة (الوقبة) في العام 2005 ميلادية (1425 هجرية) من المتحف الوطني – سلطنة عمان، وقطعة مزدوجة الرأس تبلغ 8000 عام من العمر مستعارة من دائرة الآثار العامة في الأردن وتُعرف بتمثال عين الغزال.

- دائرة الثقافة والسياحة – أبوظبي
- المتحف الوطني في رأس الخيمة
- بلدية دبي
- اللجنة السعودية للسياحة والتراث الوطني
- المتحف الوطني – سلطنة عمان
- دائرة الآثار العامة في الأردن

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode