Type a message Skip to main content

MESSAGE FROM MUSEUM DIRECTOR

Dear friends,

I have held on tightly to that feeling of togetherness – a sentiment on which Louvre Abu Dhabi was in fact built. Our museum is about universal connectivity; the artworks, artists, ideas and cultural movements that have connected humanity throughout history, proving that we have far more in common than we know. I want to acknowledge all of our museum partners in the UAE and the region as well as the French museums, including the musée du Louvre, who have been incredible collaborators in telling these stories of cultural connections, presenting their artworks alongside Louvre Abu Dhabi’s collection. I believe this message is now more important than ever and we must continue to share these stories.

I also believe that art and culture play a crucial role in seeing us through these tough times.

I am not alone in this belief. The entire cultural community has jumped into action to keep bringing art into our lives. Museums have launched social media campaigns, drawing on their collections for moments of inspiration, hope and even a touch of relief through humour; art fairs are opening virtual showrooms; artists are starting digital community projects; musicians are livestreaming concerts from their living rooms; educators are bringing art classes online and the list continues.

This incredible outpouring has proven that human creativity is perhaps the most resilient in times of crisis. Even as we face unprecedented challenges and fears in this century, the show must, and will, go on.

Amid this overwhelming situation, art can be the one thing that offers us solace and peace. As the celebrated French-American sculptor Louise Bourgeois once said, “Art is restoration: the idea is to repair the damages that are inflicted in life, to make something that is fragmented – which is what fear and anxiety do to a person – into something whole.”

Art can be a true force of healing; an opportunity to centre your mind, escape into your imagination and calm your soul. Now more than ever, we need to find ways to step away from the stress of it all and give ourselves a reprieve.

This time also allows us to view art in a completely new way. As we search for inspiration to lighten our days, the digital world opens up to us, offering moments of serendipity, curiosities, learnings and exchanges that we may not have discovered before. These new circumstances make me think of Kairos, the Ancient Greek concept of time that speaks of an opportune or decisive moment. While we cannot physically attend cultural spaces, we can still seize this moment to find art that will heal us, and in doing so become the curators of our own experience.

To that end, we aim to keep bringing beauty and peace into your lives through initiatives to stay engaged and provide moments of calm, reprieve and also joy. These include digital experiences of our permanent collection and exhibitions, education materials and e-learning tools for families, online access to our catalogues and more. Visit our website to explore these programmes, with additional content to be added in the days and weeks to come.

We are also proud to take part in the exciting CulturAll initiative launched by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi and spearheaded by DCT’s Chairman HE Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak. This initiative brings Abu Dhabi’s cultural landmarks online for audiences to enjoy their offerings from home. Follow @abudhabiculture and #CulturAll and stay tuned for experiences from Louvre Abu Dhabi.

Louvre Abu Dhabi is an inclusive museum for everyone; it is your museum. As a young institution, we feel it is incredibly important to put these programmes in place and keep our content accessible. We hope that through the power of technology and the stories of our museum we can address this contradiction head on and become even more connected as we go through this experience together.

I wish you and your loved ones safety and health during this fragile time. I know that we will all come out of this stronger, more unified and more committed to the power of art than ever before.

Warm regards,
Manuel Rabaté

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode

Type a message Skip to main content

رسالة من مدير المتحف

لقد كانت الأسابيع الماضية التي عشناها أشبه باختبار لتحديد مدى مرونتنا وقدرتنا على التأقلم مع الظروف المتغيّرة، وهي تشكل من دون أدنى شك واحدة من أصعب التحديات التي واجهتها في حياتي على الصعيدين الشخصي والمهني على حد سواء. ففيما أغلق متحف اللوفر أبوظبي أبوابه أمام الزوار الشهر الماضي، كغيره من المؤسسات الثقافية من حول العالم، شعرتُ بالقلق من المرحلة المقبلة التي سنواجهها، إلا أنني لمست أيضاً شعوراً بالوحدة والتضامن تخطى الحدود كافة، لنواجه هذه الأوقات الصعبة معاً.

لذا حرصتُ على التمسك بهذا الشعور الذي يوحدنا، وهو في صميم رسالة متحف اللوفر أبوظبي التي تقوم على التواصل ما بين الشعوب وعلى تسليط الضوء على أوجه الشبه التي تجمعنا. فالأعمال الفنية والفنانون والأفكار والحركات الثقافية، كلها عوامل ساهمت في تواصل الشعوب مع بعضها البعض، لتبرهن أن أوجه الشبه بيننا تتخطى التوقعات. ولا بد لي هنا من أن أتوجه بجزيل الشكر إلى شركائنا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفي المنطقة وفي فرنسا، بمن فيهم متحف اللوفر في باريس، والذين ساعدوا لنروي لقاء الثقافات عبر عرض أعمالهم إلى جانب مجموعة اللوفر أبوظبي الفنية في قاعات العرض كما في المعارض العالمية. وأنا اليوم مؤمن بهذه الرسالة وبأهميتها، أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

كما أنني مؤمن بأن الفن والثقافة يلعبان دوراً جوهرياً في تخطي هذه المرحلة الصعبة. وهذا ما حصل بالفعل حين ضاعفت المؤسسات الثقافية جهودها لتضع الفن بين أيدينا ونحن في منازلنا مع عائلاتنا. فقد أطلقت المتاحف حملات ضخمة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، ترتكز من خلالها على الأعمال الفنية الخاصة لتضفي على حياتنا اليومية لمسة من الإلهام والأمل والراحة. كما أطلقت المعارض الفنية قاعات عرض افتراضية، وبدأ الفنانون يعملون على مشاريع رقمية خاصة، والموسيقيون يحيون حفلات على الهواء مباشرة من غرف جلوسهم، والمعلمون يعطون حصص الفنون عبر الإنترنت، إلى جانب العديد من النشاطات الفنية والثقافية الأخرى التي برزت في الأسابيع الماضية.

لقد أثبتت هذه الحركة الاستثنائية أن الفن والإبداع هما الأكثر مرونة ومطواعية في الأزمات. فحتى عند مواجهة تحديات ومخاوف لم نعش مثلها من قبل في هذا القرن، لا بد للعرض أن يستمر، وسيستمر.

ففي خضمّ هذه الأزمة التي نعيشها، يبقى الفن الملاذ الوحيد بالنسبة إلينا لننعم بالسلام. ويستحضرني هذا قول النحّاتة الفرنسية- الأمريكية الشهيرة لويز بورجوا: "في الفن قدرة على الإصلاح، فهو يصلح الضرر الذي يلحق بحياتنا، ويعيد تجميع أجزائها التي فككها الخوف والقلق."

للفن قدرة على الشفاء... وهو فرصة للانطلاق في رحلة في الخيال وبث السكينة في النفس. ونحن اليوم، أكثر من أي وقت مضى، بحاجة إلى إيجاد سُبل للتخفيف من حدّة التوتر الذي نعيشه.

إلى جانب ذلك، تتيح لنا هذه الأوقات الصعبة رؤية الفن من منظور آخر مختلف كلياً. ففيما نبحث عن مصدر للإلهام لينير حياتنا في الوقت الراهن، نجد العالم الرقمي يحفز فضولنا وحبنا للاكتشاف والتعلّم ويعزز من التبادل الثقافي بيننا. وهذه الظروف التي نمر بها تذكرني بمفهوم الوقت في الحضارة اليونانية القديمة المعروف باسم "كايروس"، الذي يقوم على مبدأ اللحظة المناسبة أو الحاسمة. فعلى الرغم من عدم قدرتنا على زيارة المؤسسات الثقافية، لا يزال بمقدورنا اغتنام هذه الفرصة لنجد الشفاء في الفن، ولنخوض تجربة فنية وثقافية خاصة بنا.

لذا، فيما يُغلق المتحف أبوابه مؤقتاً، نسعى إلى إدخال نفحة الجمال والسلام هذه إلى حياتكم من خلال العديد من المبادرات لنبقى على تواصل معكم، وهي تشمل أدوات تتيح لكم اكتشاف قاعات عرضنا ومعارضنا العالمية، فضلاً عن موارد تعليمية للمعلمين وأخرى مخصصة للتعليم الإلكتروني للعائلات، وتتيح للجمهور الاطلاع على منشورات المتحف وغيرها من الموارد. فما عليكم سوى زيارة موقعنا الإلكتروني لاكتشاف هذه المبادرات والبقاء على اطلاع على الموارد التي سنقدمها لكم في الأيام والأسابيع المقبلة.

كما نفخر بأن اللوفر أبوظبي يشاركك في مبادرة "الثقافة للجميع" التي أطلقتها دائرة الثقافة والسياحة- أبوظبي بقيادة رئيس الدائرة معالي محمد خليفة المبارك. وتهدف هذه المبادرة إلى إتاحة المعالم الثقافية في الإمارة إلى الجمهور للاستمتاع بها من البيت. للاطلاع على هذه المبادرة تفضلوا بمتابعة @abudhabiculture و #الثقافة_للجميع، وانتظروا المزيد من مبادرات المتحف قريباً.

فاللوفر أبوظبي متحف للجميع وبمتناول الجميع، هو متحفنا ومتحفكم. ونحن نعمل بجهد لإتاحة مجموعتنا الفنية ونشاطاتنا لكم. لذا نأمل أن نتمكّن، من خلال التكنولوجيا والقصص التي نرويها، من مواجهة هذا التناقض حتى نكون على تواصل أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

في النهاية، أود أن أتمنى لكم ولعائلاتكم الصحة والأمان في هذه الأوقات الصعبة، وأنا كلي يقين بأننا سنكون أقوى من ذي قبل عند تخطي هذه الأوقات الصعبة، وسنكون أكثر وحدة والتزاماً بقوة الفن ورسالته.

مع تمنياتي لكم بالصحة والسلامة،
مانويل راباتيه

Mobile View None For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode